European Capital of Culture 2015

Every year, The title European Capital of Culture is awarded to two cities from two EU member states with the aim of supporting European cultural cooperation. This support helps to unify Europe by recognizing common cultural values and the protection and development of the cultural wealth of individual states.

The only body that has the authority to grant the title European Capital of Culture is the Council of Ministers of the European Union.

In the past, towns such as Patras, Cork, Genoa, Lille, Graz, Salamanca, Liverpool, Vilnius, Pécs, as well as the Slovak town of Košice in 2013 have all boasted the title. Over the years, awareness of this tradition has increased and with it Europeans' awareness of diversity and the magnificence of the carefully prepared cultural program that accompany the event.

Cities that have become European cultural metropolises are appealing destinations for many tourists.

Logo of Pilsen European Capital of Culture 2015